Southend-on-Sea: 1997

IMG_0508

You look at the photograph of this tea towel and I expect you must think “She must have boiled that tea towel to within an inch of its life”.  Wrong.  That is virtually how it was when I got it 20 years ago, pale sketches that almost look faded, very indistinct.  It isn’t memorable to look at.

My friend Fee was invited to do a training session in Southend-on-Sea.  20 years ago she didn’t really approve of a tea towel collection; it definitely wasn’t cool.  I said to her, that if she was near a tea towel shop, could she buy one and I would pay her back.  You would have thought I’d asked her to do something illegal or immoral.  I thought nothing of it again; I knew full well that there wasn’t a hope in hell of getting a Southend-on-Sea tea towel.  Wrong again.  She returned from Southend-on-Sea; the training session had gone well, she came into my office and flung a paper bag on my desk  and said “A tea towel.  I have never bought a tea towel in my life.  You can have it as a present”.  It was one of those moments when I sat with my mouth hanging open, stunned.  As Lyra would say “that’s not what I was expecting”.

If you read Fee’s story in Guest Tea Towel in http://www.virtualteatowelmuseum.com you will see that 20 years later she still hasn’t bought a tea towel.  But that tea towel of Southend-on-Sea was a lovely present because Fee had had to put a lot of effort into getting it and I have always appreciated that.  However, Fee wasn’t able to tell me anything about Southend or where she bought the tea towel; no little tidbit that would add to this blog.

Leave a comment