The Tree Shop: 1998

IMG_0030

This is probably going to be one of the shortest Tea Towel Blogs in history.

I was staying in a cottage, near Auchtermuchty, in 1998.  I was still able to drive then.  I decided that a bit of a trip to the Loch Fyne Oyster Bar would make a nice day out.  I loved Loch Fyne Restaurants.  It was a very long drive, but worth it.  After the meal, I decided that a stroll would be a good idea before embarking upon the journey home.  On the same site as the Loch Fyne Oyster Bar was the Tree Shop.  The Tree Shop was set up in 1990 and just sold small native trees and items made from wood.  I went in for a look around and found a delightful wooden key ring and a tea towel.  It didn’t seem a big enough place to have a tea towel.  In more recent years, the Tree Shop has expanded into a much larger Garden Centre with a cafe and a gift shop.  I like to see small firms being successful over a long period in these difficult financial times.

Using this tea towel will always remind me of that lovely holiday and one of the last ones where I could still drive.  Nice Sir Walter Scott quote as well!

Leave a Reply

