The Language of Highland Coos: 2017

IMG_0077

Last week, I went to the Central and West Fife Agricultural Show and had a great time.  A traditional Agricultural Show, no huge trade stands, no big supermarkets, no stalls that were not connected with the area.  There was everything you want from an Agricultural Show: great local food stalls selling wonderful food (I particularly liked Water Buffalo burgers); the judging of breeds of animals, everything from goats to runner ducks, from sheep to cattle, from heavy horses to chickens; there was show jumping, display of old farming machinery, a pipe band, tug of war.  I loved the Ready Steady Cook-type demonstration with audience participation, the results being burnt omelettes and very odd potato cakes but it was great fun.

In the Craft Tent, there was one stall selling tea towels, a range of three.  Liz reminded me that I didn’t have any of Scottie Dogs; I wasn’t persuaded because I love a Highland Coo and I couldn’t resist this one, especially as it combines the Highland Coo with the Scottish dialect.  I particularly like “Patter” and “‘s Gaun’ on?”.  The best has to be “Eejit”- a great sketch.  This tea towel is a simple reminder of a great day out.  It reminds me, that while I had enjoyed the Royal Show at Stoneleigh for so many years,  the Royal Show had grown too big and I like going back to the traditional Agricultural Shows.

Leave a Reply

