Snow Buddies: 1996

P5100029.jpg

My third Ulster Weavers Classic tea towel in a row.  Another full ‘canvas’ with a great Christmas picture of three snowmen, fully kitted out in scarves, hats and gloves.  This time the picture is framed, edged with hats, gloves and snowflakes.  I love the use of ice blue, makes you feel cold just looking at it; it gives a sense of that bright sun shine, reflecting on the snow, when the sun is low on the horizon.  The snowmen are looking happy and full of fun.  I bought this tea towel in Decemebr 1996, at one of the lowest points in my life, when I thought I could never celebrate Christmas again.

John had died in the November of that year, the funeral couldn’t be held until 4 December.  It seemed irreverent to celebrate Christmas in any way but then I remembered that he, like my mother, both loved Christmas and in some ways it was equally disrespectful to ignore the time of year they both loved, it would mean blocking out very strong memories.  My compromise was the purchase of this tea towel and one of those trees that kept gradually changing colour.  I watched as many soppy TV films as possible and drank too much alcohol (something I resolved never to do again), wrote the Christmas cards very early so that people did not send me cards addressed to both of us (an unsuccessful ploy because other people send Christmas cards early too).  It was a difficult Christmas but one I successfully got through and for me, the memories of this tea towel do remind me that there is a light at the end of every tunnel.

Click here to return to the Virtual Tea Towel Museum

https://virtualteatowelmuseum.com/2017/05/12/the-christmas-collection/

Leave a Reply

