Windsor Castle 2002

P5090026

This is a very busy tea towel. Half is an aerial view of Windsor Castle showing the Outer Wall. I like this tea towel because it is an informative little tea towel, bearing in mind Pub Quiz knowledge, with 18 numbers on a silhouette of the castle in the left hand corner and a list of what they refer to e.g. number 1 is the Curfew Tower. So if you ask me about the Curfew Tower I can show you where about it is on the castle – it is actually in the western end. The walls to the Curfew Tower are 13 feet thick at the base and it stands 100 feet high, was built between 1227 and 1230 as part of the new defences of the castle following the siege of Windsor Castle during the reign of King John.

Windsor Castle was started in 11th Century after the Norman Invasion and since the reign of Henry I it has been used by succeeding monarchs and is the world’s largest, oldest and longest continuously occupied fortress (always good for a Pub Quiz).

This is an Irish linen tea towel, therefore good quality and extremely functional that has held it’s colour well. I bought it on a trip to Windsor to visit the Crooked House Tea Room which was delightful and felt very ‘wobbly’. The Lonely Planet had described it as Windsor’s answer to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Sadly, I don’t believe it is still functioning as a traditional tea room.

Truth be told, I have never been to Windsor Castle, although I saw it from a distance, but I couldn’t find a tea towel of Windsor itself. Windsor Castle is another of those places that ‘doesn’t float my boat’; it is very pricey to visit but I do like the tea towel and it does remind me of the Crooked House. That’s what tea towels are good for, providing those memory triggers for places that might no longer exist.

Click below to return to the Virtual Tea Towel Museum

https://virtualteatowelmuseum.com/2017/05/14/the-england-wales-and-northern-ireland-collection/

Leave a Reply

