York Minster 2006

P5040006

I bought this tea towel in 2006 on one of my regular trips to find a good tea room. Besides a trip to York University for a conference, this was my first venture into York City Centre. I knew exactly what I wanted to see; I was absolutely confident of finding a good tea room. On my list of places to find was the Treasurers House, a National Trust property with what I was told would be a great tea room, and they weren’t wrong. However, trips to Bettys and Little Bettys also proved fruitful. What a great day.

York is a lovely city to visit; it is pleasantly compact. Interesting shops in places like the Shambles alongside York Minster, the largest gothic cathedral in Northern Europe make an interesting day out. Parking is horrendous. Now you can use the Park and Ride but it was not always like that.

This is a classic tourist tea towel with a picture of York Minster in the centre surrounded by sketches of other notable York sites. I like this tea towel because it has a lot of colour yet has stood the test of time, keeping it’s colour.

When I look at this tea towel I remember the haddock and chips with a pot of Kwazulu tea I had while sitting at the huge glass windows of Bettys watching the world go by.

Click below to return to the Virtual Tea Towel Museum

https://virtualteatowelmuseum.com/2017/05/14/the-england-wales-and-northern-ireland-collection/

Leave a Reply

